The Sacred Father’s Day Scrolls.

Ezra started working on his father’s day cards sometime last week, so by the time my husband woke up this morning and stumbled into the kitchen, there were about 10 pieces of enthusiastic love sitting on the table all rolled up like little treasure maps. Some scrolls were held together by tape, others by scraps of twine, and others by strips of velcro. I think Ezra’s favorite part of the whole ordeal was hiding the cards around the house all week in places that his daddy would not find them. Like an Easter Egg hunt. They stayed hidden, too, except I had to relocate the one that he hid inside his daddy’s favorite shoe.

(He didn’t quite think that one through.)

The boys started their Summer Program last week, and I feel like I can return to being a somewhat normal, functioning human being again now that I will have two days a week to work and dash to appointments and grocery shop and clean. Summer should really be outlawed, don’t you think? I mean, your kids are in this routine of school and then suddenly, like Lucy pulling the football away from Charlie Brown over and over and over again, POOF! School’s GONE! And you’re left with two sets of eyes looking up at you at all hours of every day and they are demanding entertainment! And it’s 100 degrees and windy outside! Like giant blow dryer weather!

It’s like the plot to a really scary movie.

I hope to be able to find more time to write. I miss you all. My mom and I were talking on the phone the other day about how great you guys are. Your tips and advice and links and encouragement about Myer’s allergies were like life lines thrown out to me at a very crucial moment.

With your help and support, I was able to pick myself up off the pity floor and get right to work trying to figure out what steps I need to take in order to make my little guy comfortable.

I’m sure I’ll have more to say about those steps once they start feeling more sure. For now, I still feel all wobbly like I’m six again and trying on all the high heels in my mom’s closet.

Thank you. So much. You guys really are the BEST.

2 thoughts on “The Sacred Father’s Day Scrolls.

  1. Emery, about the allergies..check out Angel Food Ministries, too. They may be in your area. You can buy various boxes of food that are good quality but less expensive than at the store and I know they have an allergen-free box available (at least in our area).

    https://www.angelfoodministries.com/

    It might offer a bit of convenience and savings for you. Just thought I'd mention it.

    Happy Monday!

  2. Awww, Ezra's too sweet!
    Too bad your boys aren't a bit older… then you could do what my mom always did- when my brother and I bugged her on our days off, she'd say, “If you're bored, I can certainly find something for you to do!” (meaning chores of course). She wouldn't hear from us for hours.

leave a comment!

